Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Akjosch RSS blog feed

Akjosch's Game blog




Looking for the Facebook login?


Published 2010-03-17 by Akjosch.

Well, a lot of people are. Quite some of them are looking in the wrong place - namely, on the Google search engine - and come up with a page which talks about the Facebook login, but isn't the login page itself. Some realise their mistake. Others ... not so much.

Read the comments. It's awesome.



Tags: facebook, epic

A Timeline of Western MMO Development (by Ben Ziegler)


Published 2010-02-08 by Akjosch.

Courtessy of Ben Zeigler (of Cryptic Studios) comes a timeline of western MMO development. I wonder what NCSoft does in there. Well, besides for Tabula Rasa - R.I.P - and Auto Assault - R.I.P. - I guess Smile.




Verizon is blocking 4chan


Published 2010-02-08 by Akjosch.

Verizon is blocking 4chan. Anonymous won't be pleased.

 

(Couldn't find a good "game" for it, sorry. Counts "Anarchistic distributed anonymous commune" as a game anyway, or is it the beginning of the Singularity already?)



Tags: random, nsfw

Why MMOs fail


Published 2010-02-04 by Akjosch.

Ever thought about making your own MMO? Don't worry, everyone of us did (and does) at one point. But even if you get the team and funding, it's a long hard process, and many fail anyway. So ... let's learn from their mistakes instead of repeating  them all the time, and read what Lum the Mad has to say about MMOs failing. You might not agree with all of what he writes, but you should at least listen. And maybe, one day, we'll actually get to play your dream game.




How to find out who to blame for your account being hacked


Published 2010-02-03 by Akjosch.

How to find out who to blame for your account being hacked

... besides yourself, that is.

There's been some AION phishing mails floating around recently, courtessy of AionSource's admins not being that good with computer security, apparently. As some people noticed, this was a rather ridiculous attempt, but I've seen much better ones already - and I'm sure you did as well.

But no worries - you can find out who to blame, too! Well, or at least who to contact about the phishing site on their network. Who knows, they might even take the site down quickly (actually, if whoever is hosting the site is in western Europe or northern America, the chances are pretty good). So, grab your good old Linux machine (if you don't have one, boot any computer with a Linux Live CD and get comfortable with using a terminal) and get to it.

I'll use the domain from the above-mentioned phishing mails, ncsoft-support (dot) com, mostly because it's an easy target. Cool For starters, we're going to find out a very basic information: Where is the web  site located? For that, you can use a multitude of tools, with the simplest one being "ping" (it works even on Windows!). Just type in: "ping (domainname)" in the terminal, and it should tell you what IP address (in this case, 98.126.22.195) it's trying to reach, if the IP adress is reachable, and how long it takes, in miliseconds. Personally, I prefer the much more informative "dig", which allows you to really dig into a domain's name service information (pardon the pun).

With the IP address, we can try to find out who it belongs to. The command line tool for this is called simply "whois", and typing "whois 98.126.22.195" prints out something like this:

[Querying whois.arin.net]
[Redirected to rwhois.vpls.net:4321]
[Querying rwhois.vpls.net]
[rwhois.vpls.net]
%rwhois V-1.5:003eff:00 rwhois.vpls.net (by Network Solutions, Inc. V-1.5.9.5)
network:Class-Name:network
network:ID:NETBLK-WANTWEB-98.126.22.192/27
network:Auth-Area:98.126.0.0/16
network:Network-Name:WANTWEB-98.126.22.192-27
network:IP-Network:98.126.22.192/27
network:IP-Network-Block:98.126.22.192 - 98.126.22.223
network:Organization;I:want_web
network:Admin-Contact;I:VPLS
network:Tech-Contact;I:hostmaster@vpls.net
network:Abuse-Contact;I:abuse@vpls.net
network:Created:20080912
network:Updated:20080912
network:Updated-By:hostmaster@vpls.net

%referral rwhois://root.rwhois.net:4321/auth-area=.
%ok

We're kind of lucky here, since the e-mail address to contact is already listed: abuse@vpls.net. But whois can do more. In particular, typing "whois vpls.net" can give you information about who the company hosting the site is, which can get you an idea how likely it is they will take it down when informed. In this case, its output is ...

Registrant:
   VPLS, Inc.
   1744 W. Katella Avenue
   Suite 200
   Orange, California 92867
   United States

   Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: VPLS.NET
      Created on: 23-Jan-02
      Expires on: 23-Jan-13
      Last Updated on: 19-Dec-07

   Administrative Contact:
      Engineering, Systems  support@krypt.com
      VPLS, Inc.
      1744 W. Katella Avenue
      Suite 200
      Orange, California 92867
      United States
      +1.7149939997      Fax -- +1.7142427461

(...)

I skipped a few records which weren't all that interesting, or redundant.

As it happens, the web site was hosted on a Californian company's machine. Consequently, it's been taken down already - but beware, the phishers won't give up so easily. It might re-appear on another machine soon.

As I side note, I'm pretty sure there are web-based "whois" sites somewhere, but if you are interested in doing any computer or network security work ... better get used to the command line. Wink




1

Akjosch game blog avatar

Blog user:
Akjosch

Member since:
2010-02-03

Number of Posts:
12

Blog link:
gamerblogz.com/blog/Akjosch/

Friends

      
See more friends...
gamer blogs
© 2009 - 2010. gamerblogz.com All rights reserved. gamerblogz and the gamerblogz Logo. All right reserved.
Some of the graphical content are copyrighted to there respective owners.The graphical content ,and all associated logos and designs on gamerblogz.com that is not copyrighted to gamerblogz.com
are for promotional and information purposes only on its website. The companies that is not gamerblogz.com do not endorse, and is not affiliated,with gamerblogz.com in any official capacity whatsoever.
any concern regarding issues with gamerblogz.com please contact gamerblogz.com.