Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Akjosch RSS blog feed

More Aion phishing mails


Published 2010-03-22 by Akjosch.


This time around, it tries to lure you to a site in the NCSOLT.COM domain. Guess who it's registered to?

Domain Name ..................... ncsolt.com
Name Server ..................... ns1.superdns.org
                                  ns2.superdns.org
Registrant ID ................... hc765055622-cn
Registrant Name ................. nc solt
Registrant Organization ......... nc solt
Registrant Address .............. shenyangshenyang liaoning
Registrant City ................. shenyang
Registrant Province/State ....... Liaoning
Registrant Postal Code .......... 100009
Registrant Country Code ......... CN
Registrant Phone Number ......... +86.7916276996 -
Registrant Fax .................. +86.7916276996 -
Registrant Email ................ webmaster@ncsolt.com


Well, not NCSoft for sure. I doubt NCSoft uses cheap-o shared web hosting services in Hong Kong for their secure web site either. ;)

For those interested, the full text (obviously with faked links) is:


Greetings!
This is an automated notification regarding the recent change(s)

made to your Aion Account. NCSoft system scan to your account insecurity, in order not to affect the normal use of your account, please log NCSoft safety net to verify your account information, or else NCSoft will stop using your account's rights . Certification of Aion Account information site of NCSoft:
https://secure.ncsoft.com/cgi-bin/plaync_login.pl
NCSoft staff will verify your account information submitted in two days, please do not modify your account information during this time . It will not affect your game uptime.

Account security is solely the responsibility of the account holder. Please be advised that in the event of a compromised account, NCSoft representatives typically must lock the account. In these cases the Account Administration team will require faxed receipt of ID materials before releasing the account for play.

Please retain this e-mail for your reference. If you have any questions about the account information, please contact Support@NCSoft.com.

The Aion Team


The usual advice applies: Don't follow any links in officially-looking mails you didn't request, don't put your account information in there, don't visit such sites with JavaScript or any other scripting enabled and if you suspect you might have done any of it, change your account passwords from a known "clean" computer and make a through viirus and spyware scan of the computer you used just to be sure. If you don't have a "clean" computer, use a Linux-on-CD distribution like Knoppix - they don't require any installation at all and can't be that easy tampered with.

As a side note, I only get those mails to the mail address I used to register at Stratics and no-where else. Makes you wonder about their site security.

(This post should have gone online on Thursday, server/editor issues prevented that)



Tags: aion, phishing


You must loggin to leave a comment! [Register]



Leonidar said 2010-03-22

haha
yea, but sucks that they in that case leaked the Emails.


Akjosch said 2010-03-22

Why would I use an e-mail address with "stratics" as part of the username for anything else? :)


Leonidar said 2010-03-22

Sure you only used it for stratics? thats not kinda, thats very bad :(




Akjosch game blog avatar

Blog user:
Akjosch

Member since:
2010-02-03

Number of Posts:
12

Blog link:
gamerblogz.com/blog/Akjosch/

Friends

      
See more friends...
gamer blogs
© 2009 - 2010. gamerblogz.com All rights reserved. gamerblogz and the gamerblogz Logo. All right reserved.
Some of the graphical content are copyrighted to there respective owners.The graphical content ,and all associated logos and designs on gamerblogz.com that is not copyrighted to gamerblogz.com
are for promotional and information purposes only on its website. The companies that is not gamerblogz.com do not endorse, and is not affiliated,with gamerblogz.com in any official capacity whatsoever.
any concern regarding issues with gamerblogz.com please contact gamerblogz.com.